Nourishment

“Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk, that by it you may grow up into salvation–if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is good.”  (1 Peter 2:1-3)

There are some things which only sink in after you have become a parent.  I had one of these moments this past week as I was spending time studying the Bible with a co-worker.  We were reading through 1 Peter together when we came across the following verse:  “Like newborn infants, long fo the pure spiritual milk…” (1 Peter 2:2).  After reading it my friend looked up and asked me what I thought this meant.   In the past I would have skimmed over a passage like this, describing it as a simple word picture highlighting how we are to be dependent on God in the same way that little children are dependent on their parents

While this is true, I now realize that Peter was communicating something far richer.  As I reflected on this verse I could not help but think about my daughter during the first year of her life.  During that time there was only one thing that she truly needed for nourishment:  her mother’s milk.  I remain fascinated by this fact as I consider how, day in and day out, she ate and drank nothing else but that which she received from her mom.  And yet, she continued to grow.  Through the milk that she was getting from her mother, she received the necessary fats, nutrients, and antibodies that she needed to sustain her.

So, when Peter writes to his fellow Christians, he is trying to help them see just how vital it is for us to stay connected to God.  From Him we receive absolutely everything we need for spiritual life.  While our world is constantly encouraging us to seek guidance from self-help gurus and consumer-based spirituality, Peter reminds us that everything we need for spiritual life comes directly from our relationship with God through Jesus Christ.  We do not need to go anywhere else.

This ministered to me on a whole new level, especially in light of my recent posts regarding my prayer life.  Though God has seemed distant, I am reminded that He really is not very far off at all and that, though I might be tempted to look to some kind of spiritual substitute, all I really need can and will be found in Christ and Christ alone.  So, whether I find myself on the mountain-top or the valley this coming year, I see this passage as a reminder to always look to Christ for my spiritual nourishment, for that is all I truly need.

Leave a Reply

