The Gift of Married Life

Just Us

There is no more lovely, friendly and charming relationship, communion or company than a good marriage.
~Martin Luther

So he’s a bit of a fixer upper
But we know what to do
The way to fix this fixer upper
Is to fix him up with you
~The Trolls from Disney’s Frozen

This week I stand between two important days:  the anniversary of my wedding to Jenny and Father’s Day.  As such, I’ve been thinking a lot about both what it means to be a husband and a father and I’ve come to the conclusion that there a few gifts greater than those of a spouse and children, for I believe that it is in the beautiful vocations of both marriage and parenthood that God humbles the spiritually proud and shows grace to the weak.

Here is what I mean.  I think it is easy for a person to become quite proud in his or her own spiritual life.  However, when we enter into marriage we suddenly give another person the most intimate access to our life on the face of the earth.  This front row seat is expanded by the arrival of children.  Our spouses and our kids see us at our very best, but also at our very worst.  It is easy to believe oneself to be a saint until you have people watching you 24/7.  You quickly learn just how impatient, stubborn, and self-centered you actually are when you suddenly find yourself responsible for and exposed to these most intimate of relationships.  God uses marriage and parenthood to humble the proud, to show us our faults, and to round out our rough edges.

But He also uses marriage and parenthood to display His grace, because even as our spouses and our kids see us at our worst, they choose to love us.  Our families know we are not perfect.  They know we can be selfish, screw up, and make mistakes, and yet, they still choose to love.  In a small way, this is a display of the love and grace that God shows to each and every one of us.

So today, as I reflect on six years as a husband and four as a father, I am grateful to God for my wife and kids.  They have been with me on this crazy journey of life and ministry and I could not be more thankful for all the ways that they have blessed me.  Thank you guys and I love you:)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

